My Fibroid story…

Fibroid:  a benign tumor that consists of fibrous and muscular tissue and occurs especially in the uterine wall…

  • Symptoms: heavy prolonged periods, painful periods, pain in the abdomen, pelvis or low back, bloating and feelings of abdominal pressure, frequent urination…

I recently found out that I have 3 uterine fibroids. I had no idea about them until I got pregnant. Actually I found out I was pregnant because of the excruciating pain of the fibroids but had no idea what was happening!

One of my fibroids is the size of a grapefruit and the other 2 are the sizes of small oranges. Many women have fibroids and live with them without knowing. I’ve had some questions on what fibroids are and how I found out that I had them. Well here’s my story…

At the beginning of my pregnancy I was in terrible pain with lower abdominal cramping. I thought I was just getting my period and cramping during pms but then the cramping got worse! Much worse…and my mom told me to go to urgent care. I went and they ran a lot of tests but the only thing they found was that I was pregnant!! I was told that I just had implantation cramping and that it would go away. Except it didn’t! So I went to the ER where I was told the same thing. They told me to come back if there was bleeding but besides that I should be fine. My pain became so intense that I couldn’t stand, sleep, sit, work, nothing! I ended up having to tell my mom that I was pregnant very early so that she knew what my pain was from and so that she could take care of me because at this point hubby and I had no idea what to do! We began to actually get scared that maybe something was wrong with the baby or that I had an ecptopic pregnancy (this is where the embryo implants itself somewhere other than the uterus). One day I was finally able to sleep a little. I had to get up because I had to work. As I got up to shower the worst cramp I’d ever felt happened. My hubby helped me to the shower where I thought the warm water would help. Once in the shower I saw that I was bleeding…A LOT.  I was in so much pain that my mom called an ambulance and I was taken to the ER once again. This time I thought I was definitely having a miscarriage. The nurses and dr’s ran some painful tests but it was worth it because they were able to see that I had 3 fibroids and one had actually ruptured!! The dr came in and confirmed that our baby was fine and that I had to be on bed rest for a week. What a confusing relief this was for me…no one could tell me when the pain would stop but about 2 weeks later my pain finally subsided and I was able to go back to life as normal and enjoy all the “wonderful” side effects of my first trimester 🙂

Every once in a while I will still get an uncomfortable cramp but I am having a pretty normal pregnancy. My amazing dr said that my fibroids may actually shrink while I am pregnant and will not affect my pregnancy or delivery. (He actually prayed over them at our first appointment). I am so grateful for being able to learn about this issue and that I am able to share my experience with others.

I hope this helps you understand a little more!

 

 

One thought on “My Fibroid story…

Leave a comment